Larry Murley
Author, Person, Student of Human Nature and History

NEWS & EVENTS

Voices of Vietnam
Larry talks about his experience with the Dega People of the Vietnam central highlands on With Good Reason Radio on Episode Two, Part Four.

Historical Talk
Larry will be speaking to the Montgomery County Genealogical and Historical Society on Thursday May 10, 2018 at the Strake Gray Conference Center, Heritage Museum in Conroe, Texas. He will be speaking about PTSD and history.

Book Signings
Larry had a very successful book signing at the Corning Public Library in Corning, Arkansas on September 9, 2017 and at the Ripley Historical Museum in Ripley, Mississippi on September 16, 2017.

Civil War Talk
Larry spoke about the Army of Tennessee at the Heritage Festival on Saturday, June 18, 2017.

Novelist from Corning
Josh McIntosh reviews Larry in his home town of Corning, Arkansas in the Clay County Courier.

Confederate Hero Cotillion
Larry talks about his Civil War ancestors at the Albert Sidney Johnston Camp #67 at the Confederate Hero Day Cotillion.


CONTACT LARRY

Email: Larry@LarryMurley.com

Tel:  936-446-0313

 

BOOK REVIEWS

Loss of Innocence - A Vietnam War Story


Living the edgy life of a CIA assassin in Viet Nam

By Joe Epley on April 18, 2014

For his first novel, Larry Murley draws on his experiences in the early days of the Viet Nam war to craft a story about a GI named Boots suddenly assigned to the shadowy world of CIA operations shortly after he entered the country in the early 1960s..
After several high level assassinations, Boots and his CIA leader “Silver” move into a remote Montagnard village, train the native men with modern weapons, and lead them to observe and disrupt traffic along the Ho Chi Min Trail.
“Loss of Innocence” reveals in vivid detail the challenges of living within a primitive culture, the horror of being on the receiving end of a well planned ambush, and the anguish and deprivation of being held captive under harsh, primitive conditions. The reader finds himself sharing the emotional highs and lows of Boots during his harrowing adventures.
This fast paced war story is a good read.


A different Vietnam war book

By Lynda Polk on May 18, 2014

I am not normally a fan of books about this era, but Loss of Innocence is very readable. More a story that could have happened in any war, it moves along smoothly. The author gets his message through, and you don't have to be ex-military yourself to understand it. I would recommend it.


He did what most of us only want to do.....

By Mike Seyle on April 29, 2014

He wrote a riveting tale. Yes, it has typos. And yes, maybe there are a few loose threads. But don't let that stop you, because you'll be pulled into a page-turner by a man who was there, and isn't afraid of emotions. Highly recommended.


Loss of Innocence

By Khrys'e D. on October 15, 2014

In Loss of Innocence Larry uses his simple and insightfull charm to tell his dark and beautiful story. It is aptly titled, keeps pretention at absolute zero, and is full of heart and soul. His book moved me. I learned a few things, and I genuinely enjoyed it.


A readable Viet-Nam story from an early point of view!

By Sir Real on April 29, 2014

After starting somewhat slow and hard to believe, Loss of Innocence, did evolve into a decent piece of fiction. Definitely readable.

After Texas Sank


Survival in an apocalyptic world....

By Joe Epley on December 28, 2014

In the near future, Mother Nature unleashes a series of disasters, including three monster category 5 hurricanes hitting almost simultaneously and destroying every city along the Gulf and Atlantic coasts, flooding inland hundreds of miles. These and other storms are followed by two major apocalyptic earthquakes, one sinking most of the Pacific coast states and the other wreaking havoc in the Midwestern states and putting most of Texas underwater.
Transportation and communication comes to a halt. So does electricity and other common utilities we take for granted in everyday life. Local, state and federal governments collapse. The internet vanishes. In addition to the millions dead from the mega-disasters, millions more die of disease, starvation and slaughter in savage struggles to find anything to eat.
Larry Murley does a masterful job with this fascinating story as he describes how a few small pockets of humanity live through the chaotic first few years of a world torn apart and their struggle of survival, creating a sustainable food supplies and preserving a culture of community in the Colorado Rockies. Although facing harsh conditions ranging from erratic weather, armed bandits, dwindling food and medicine, Jeff Barlett emerges the hero as he displays common sense leadership over two decades by guiding surviving groups into a new society.
If you like disaster stories, you will love “After Texas Sank” and the perseverance of those who survived unthinkable calamities.


Awesome....

By Amazon Customer on November 9, 2015

Awesome. I met this auther at the Ren Fest in Houston. Cool guy.


This book makes you stop and think what if this ...

By Amazon Customer on April 23, 2016

This book makes you stop and think what if this really did happen. I felt as if I was on that Colorado mountain top.


What a great read! I was taken to the mountain in ...

By Amazon Customer on February 1, 2016

What a great read! I was taken to the mountain in Colorado with all of the characters.

White Lines & Lot Lizards


This book was really good.

By Amazon Customer on April 23, 2016

This book was really good. Again Larry takes you right along with him.


Five Stars

By Amazon Customer on March 6, 2016

Great read


OUR SUPPORT

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional Valid CSS!